What’s Your Love Language?

It’s Spring. Love is in the air.  Oprah’s Lifeclass with Dr. Gary Chapman is on OWN.

We all have a love language, and we feel loved when the people in our lives speak our love language:

Words of Affirmation
Quality Time
Receiving Gifts
Acts of Service
Physical Touch


We often give people the kind of love we’d like to receive without realizing that the person we care deeply for is speaking another love language.  For example, the man in your life might be big on physical touch.  You, however, may be more turned on by acts of service like volunteering to do household tasks or a foot rub at the end of a long day.  If so, you love language might be acts of service.

A friend who loves receiving gifts may not realize that her friend would prefer words of affirmation.  People who are big on affirmation will likely remember to send a thank-you note for those gifts.

You can quickly find out which type you are by taking Dr. Chapman’s quiz.  It’s fun.  If you want to win my heart, forget about gifts.  Quality time with you is what I want.  Acts of service and words of affirmation carry equal weight, and an occasional hug would be nice.

If you take the quiz, please let me know your love language so that I can honor who you are.

Related link:

The Five Love Languages

3 responses to “What’s Your Love Language?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s